Thursday, May 6, 2010

Socorro Boys Win Track Title

By Nicky Romero

The Socorro High School boys track and field team placed first overall in the District meet in Truth or Consequences on Saturday, May 1. Eighteen members of the team qualified to participate in the 2010 New Mexico State Track and Field Championships in Albuquerque at the UNM Track Stadium on May 7-8.
Coach Lee Cody said, “On state, we're just going to go out there and compete and see what happens. I don't really have expectations of winning or losing. We're just going to go out there and compete with the person in front of us, behind us, next to us and see what happens at the end of the day.
“I think we're actually starting to develop something as a program here. I think we're going to get track to be pretty important here in Socorro within the next couple of years hopefully.”
The 2010 state qualifiers and their events are: James Thorton (4x100, 4x200, 100m, 200m, long jump, triple jump), Avery Ngo (4x100, 4x200, 100m, long jump), Jorge Rivas (4x100, 4x200, 100m, 200m), C.J. Barela (4x100, 4x400, medley), Owen Azevedo (800m, medley), Chuck Findlay (400m, 4x4), Dylan Gallegos (4x200, 4x400), John Woods (110h, 300h), Tim Abeyta (3200m), Sam Hale (shot), David Robinson (discus), Adrian Miranda (medley), Sean Ernst (4x4), Moazz Soliman (high jump), Zach Esquivel (110h), Jared Marquez (4x100), Zeb Esquivel (Medley), and Kendal Pyke (pole vault).
District Champs were: 4x100: C.J. Barela, Avery Ngo, Jorge Rivas, James Thorton; 4x200: Jorge Rivas, Avery Ngo, Dylan Gallegos, James Thorton; 100: Avery Ngo; 200: James Thorton; 40 hurdles: John Woods; 300 hurdles: John Woods, 800m: Owen Azevedo, triple jump: James Thorton; and the discus: David Robinson.
The team scored a total of 186 points, with Thorton contributing 24 of the points. Cobre finished in second place with 110 points. T or C had 80 points for third place. Hatch got fourth place with 70 points.

No comments:

Post a Comment