Friday, June 4, 2010

Low Turnout At Primary Election

Mountain Mail Reports

Carlos Carrillo gained 28 percent of the vote and earned the Democratic nod in the race for Socorro County Probate Judge Tuesday night.
Carrillo received 468 votes, defeating Toby Jaramillo (349), Bill Bottorf (302), Cindy Rivera (286) and Richard Sanchez (285).
In the November election, Carrillo will take on Emma King (704), who defeated Ray Spurgin (565) in the Republican race for the probate judge seat.
County Clerk Rebecca Vega said everything went smoothly and that the election was “a lot slower than others.
“I can’t give you percentages because I am still working on it.”
In the Democratic county assessor race, Henry Jojola unseated incumbent Valentin Anaya with a 921-769 vote advantage. Jojola will run against Gayl Dorr, who ran unopposed on the Republican ticket.
Incumbent Philip Anaya (D) defeated Anthony Baca 210-176 and will face Amanda Gallegos in the county commissioner District 3 race. In the District 1 commissioner race, Michael Olguin and Pauline Jaramillo ran unopposed and will vie for the position in November.
Sheriff Philip Montoya will face Kenny Gonzales in November after Montoya easily won the Republican primary with a 1,007-291 vote advantage over Joseph Lopez.
In the statewide elections, Diane Denish and Susana Martinez will run for governor. Brian Colon and John Sanchez will run for lieutenant governor. Mary Herrera and Diana Duran will run for Secretary of State. Hector Balderas and Errol Chavez will run for state treasurer. Gary King and Matthew Chandler will run for attorney general.
Nationally, Harry Teague and Steve Pearce will run for the U.S. Representative District 2 seat.
Election results will be canvassed and certified on Friday at 10 a.m. in the County Annex Building.
All voting results can be found on

No comments:

Post a Comment