Thursday, February 25, 2010

Socorro, Magdalena Voters To Head To Polls March 2

By John Larson

SOCORRO – Voting day is next Tuesday, Mar. 2, when Socorro and Magdalena voters will have the chance to choose who will be governing them for the next four years. In Magdalena, two trustee positions and the mayor will be decided; in Socorro, four councilors and mayor.
In the Socorro mayoral race, incumbent Ravi Bhasker will face challenger Mark Santomenna.
For councilor, Donald Monette is running for re-election unopposed.
Incumbent Gordy Hicks is being challenged by George Foulenfont.
Incumbent Ernest Pargas is being challenged by Joe Torres and David Locklar.
Chuck Zimmerly’s open seat is being contested by Nick Fleming, Jean Fraissinet, Noah Jaramillo, and Sammy Pino.
In Magdalena, three candidates want to be mayor; Barbara Baca, Jack Fairweather, and Sandy Julian.
Running for two trustee positions are incumbent Dolly Dawson, Diane Allen, and Tommy Torres.
Voting will take place at the Magdalena Fire Department from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.
In Socorro, voters will cast their ballots from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at their normal polling locations:
Precinct 8, 9-IN, 10-IN, 17, 18-IN, 23-IN, will vote at Parkview Elementary.
Precinct 5-IN, 6, will vote at Finley Gym.
Precincts 1, 7 will vote at GRADS building (the old Torres School).
Precincts 2, 4 will vote at the main fire station on Fisher.
Precincts 3-IN will vote at Socorro Consolidated Schools’ central office on Franklin St.

No comments:

Post a Comment